Senators to Join Digital Rally Opposing Judicial Nominations - Alliance for Justice

Senators to Join Digital Rally Opposing Judicial Nominations

Press Release

Press Contact

Zack Ford

On Monday, June 15 at 3 PM, advocates for health care, civil rights, and equal justice will hold a massive digital rally to engage activists in opposition to judicial nominees Justin Walker and Cory Wilson in anticipation of their upcoming Senate confirmation votes. Confirmed speakers include Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Sen. Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Sen. Bob Casey (D-PA), as well as a multitude of activist and organizational leaders. Participants will be encouraged throughout the event to call their senators to speak out against these nominees.

Instead of answering the urgent cries to stop police violence and racial injustice or addressing the COVID-19 crisis threatening our health and lives, Senate Republicans are advancing two nominees with disturbing records. Wilson and Walker have both called for overturning the Affordable Care Act, which has ensured essential access to health care for millions of Americans during this deadly pandemic. Between the two of them, they have also taken egregious positions on voting rights, executive power, reproductive freedom, gun safety, LGBTQ rights, and workers’ rights, among many other issues.

To safely engage activists across the country, this rally will take place on Facebook Live.

WHAT: Rally to Stop Trump’s Judges: Protect Our Health Care and Our Rights

WHEN: 3 PM Eastern, Monday, June 15, 2020


WHO: Sen. Chuck Schumer; Sen. Mazie Hirono; Sen. Bob Casey; Nan Aron, President, Alliance for Justice; Derrick Johnson, President and CEO, NAACP; LaShawn Warren, Executive Vice President of Government Affairs, The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights; Marge Baker, Executive Vice President for Policy and Program, People For the American Way; Lisa Cylar Barrett, Director of Policy, NAACP Legal Defense Fund; Jennifer Epps-Addison, Co-Executive Director, Center for Popular Democracy Action; Gabrielle Aldea, Healthcare Activist and Center for Popular Democracy Action Member; Emily Stewart, Executive Director, Community Catalyst; Jody Rabhan, Chief Policy Officer, National Council of Jewish Women; Jacqueline Ayers, Vice President, Public Policy and Government Affairs, Planned Parenthood; Katie O’Connor, Senior Counsel, Demand Justice; Erin Gabriel, National Director of Advocacy, Little Lobbyists; Sharon McGowan, Chief Strategy Officer, Lambda Legal; Da Hae Kim, Legal Advocacy and Judicial Strategy Manager, NAPAWF; Desiree Hoffman, Legislative Representative, United Auto Workers Union; Kate Ryan, Director of Government Relations, NARAL; Robin Maril, Associate Legal Director, Human Rights Campaign.